In Kentucky, there are many bars and places to drink, so it’s not surprising that people do and then attempt to drive home. Unfortunately, making the decision to drive while impaired can lead to serious legal consequences.
If you are someone with a history of DWIs or DUIs in Kentucky, you will likely not qualify for any license suspension reduction programs or reductions of the potential penalties. You may also have a harder time defending yourself if you believe that you’ve been falsely accused.
Four or more offenses: What you need to know
If this is your fourth offense or more within the last 10 years, then you could face penalties that include:
- 120 days of Violation-Free KIIP Participation
- 30 months of a license suspension
- Up to a year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
Of course, there are also fines and fees that you will be expected to pay, and you may find that you cannot get car insurance or afford the insurance that is open to you.
What if this is not the fourth offense within the last 10 years?
If this is a fourth offense but not the fourth within the last 10 years, you’ll need to calculate how many offenses land within the last 10 years to see the penalties you could face. For example, if you had two DUIs in 2010, one in 2015 and one in 2022, only the last two would potentially be considered. That would mean that you could face the second-offense charges, which also include a year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment and 120 days of Violation-Free KIIP Participation. The big difference is that you may only lose your license for 12 months.
Get support if you’re facing a DUI
Since there are variances in the law depending on when the violations occurred, it’s smart to get help to make sure you understand your rights and are able to understand what to expect if you are convicted. There are options that you can use to defend yourself. Depending on the circumstances, you may be able to have the charges lowered or dropped completely.